Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum

Giving the children the best possible start to their education is our primary aim in our Foundation Stage.


At Trenance we follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) framework which sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. It gives children the wide range of knowledge and skills that provide a secure foundation for future progress through school and their life to come.

There are seven areas of learning and development that form the EYFS curriculum.

Three areas are particularly crucial for building children’s capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These three areas are known as the prime areas;


  •       Communication and language;
  •       Physical development; and
  •       Personal, social and emotional development.


There are also four specific areas through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. These are:


  •       Literacy;
  •       Mathematics;
  •       Understanding the world; and
  •       Expressive arts and design.



Teachers at Trenance consider the individual needs, interests and stage of development of each child in their care, and use this information to provide a challenging and inspiring curriculum for all children. The EYFS is a play based curriculum, where practitioners use a mix of adult-led and child-initiated activities each day.

Underpinning everything we do in the early years are the characteristics of effective learning, which are;


  •       Playing and exploring – children use all their senses to investigate and explore
  •       Active learning- children concentrate and keep on trying
  •       Creating and thinking critically-children develop their own ideas and problem solving skills.

We have turned these characteristics into superheroes at Trenance! We develop and refer to these superheroes throughout the day in the EYFS to promote effective learning and encourage the children to talk about their learning.

Observation and assessment

Ongoing assessment is an integral part of the learning and development process in the EYFS. It involves practitioners observing children throughout the day to assess progress and achievement across all areas of learning and development. At Trenance we use an online learning journey called Tapestry to record this learning and development throughout the foundation year. We have very strong partnerships with parents/carers at Trenance and this learning journal is shared with parents online. Parents are then also able to add photos, videos and text from home at any point during the year. Please find more information about Tapestry link here;

Tapestry Learning Journal


At the end of the EYFS teachers complete an EYFS profile summarising a child’s knowledge, understanding and abilities in all areas of the curriculum. This is shared with both parents and Year One teachers, to support a smooth transition into the next year group.